

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

Minutes of the AGM held in Michael Tippet Room, Staff House, University of Birmingham, B15 2TP at 1300 on Saturday, 17 November 2018.

PRESENT

Council Members

Richard Bickers (Avon) Seamus Singh (Avon) Sandy Burnett (Berkshire) Heidi Leseur (Buckinghamshire & Board Member) Alan Batchelor (Cheshire) Mike Batte (Cornwall) Jo Wallis (Derbyshire) Brian Duke (Durham & Cleveland) Dave Neller (Essex) Gerard L'aimable (Kent) Bernie Gill (Lancashire) Cindy Gill (Lancashire) Rachel Calver (Leicestershire) Simon Rolington (Leicestershire) Vicki Turner (Lincolnshire) Andrew Beeston (Merseyside) Jim Foggitt (Merseyside) Mike Broadbent (Northamptonshire) Martin Sawyer (Northamptonshire) Colin McNestrie (Northumbria) Alec Livingstone (Suffolk) Patrick Fleming (Surrey) Colin Watson (Surrey) Paul Millman (Sussex & President) Nigel Orrett (Warwickshire) Mike Stannard (Wiltshire) John Parkes (Worcestershire) Mike Clemson (Yorkshire) Peter Keen (Yorkshire)

Club Members

Roy Staniland (Surbiton Racket & Fitness Club) Andrew Wooldridge (Surbiton Racket & Fitness Club)

Other Board Members

Joy Carter (Chair) Mark Jeffreys Wendy Newlove Eamonn O'Rourke Paul Trott Keir Worth (CEO)

IN ATTENDANCE

Richard Antcliff

England Squash Vice Presidents

Barbara Sanderson Zena Wooldridge

England Squash

Paul Barrett (Project Manager – Membership) Steve Jones (Minute Taker) Paul Makinen (Head of Marketing & Insight) Chris Peach (National Education & Pathways Manager) Louise Perry (Director of Finance & Operations) Linda Taylor (Head of Strategic Partnerships) Mark Williams (Partnerships & Programmes Director)

Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received from Cumbria, Hampshire, Herefordshire, Hertfordshire and Middlesex. The following Life Members also sent their apologies: Cdr. Bawtree, Mr. Ellrich, Dr. Lindsay and Mr Swann.

1. To approve by ordinary resolution the minutes of the annual general meeting held by the Company on 11 November 2017

The minutes were adopted unanimously. There were no matters arising.

2. To adopt by ordinary resolution the report of the board of directors for the Company for the year ended 31st March 2018

The report was adopted unanimously.

3. To adopt by ordinary resolution the audited accounts of the Company for the year ended 31st March 2018

The accounts were adopted unanimously.

Two queries were raised, one in relation to the high cost of legal expenses and another regarding the significant leasing costs in the accounts. It was explained that during the year legal advice had been required on the Articles of Association and GDPR, amongst others, and that the high leasing costs were due to a printing contract signed by a previous executive (the contract is due to end in January 2020).

4. To approve by ordinary resolution the election of the President

Paul Millman, the acting interim President, left the room while the vote by show of hands took place. Paul Millman was elected President unanimously.

5. To approve by ordinary resolution the reappointment of Mazars as the Company's auditors

It was noted that the audit committee had reviewed the potential for changing providers but it had been decided to remain with Mazars for the following year due to the great service and low cost.

Mazars were re-appointed unanimously.

6. **To consider any other business**

Sad news

Sir Nigel Broomfield, who represented England 1957-60, won the Drysdale Cup three years in a row and was British Amateur Champion twice, died on 29 October. Sir Nigel had a distinguished career in the Army and then the Foreign Office. The AGM recognised the huge and important legacy to the game and expressed deep sadness.

Sumner Malik, from Sussex, also passed away, age 12 in August, after a brave battle against a rare form of brain tumour. Sumner was one of six children in the Malik family who all took up squash and have enjoyed success at county and national level. The AGM expressed heartfelt sadness at Sumner's passing.

2019 Board elections

There are some points to consider with regards to next year's Board elections as follows.

A. Council should be aware that the fixed-term appointment of eight Directors comes to an end in May 2019

B. All retiring Directors are able to offer themselves up for re-election for a further term of three years (either as Elected Directors, subject to a maximum of four, or Appointed Directors). Of the existing Board, Jamie Singer and Matt Pullen (Elected Board members) have indicated that they will not stand for re-election.

C. Of the existing Board, six Directors (excluding the Chair, CEO and SID) are Elected Directors.

D. In line with the Articles of Association, Elected Directors will constitute up to four of the proposed Board of 12 from May 2019.

E. Wendy Newlove is an Elected Director whose term expires in November 2020.

F. The Nominations Committee consider Paul Trott to be a defacto Elected Director, given his historical Board position and as a representative of the County Associations.

G. The Chair and the Senior Independent cannot be Elected Directors.

H. The Board would like Council to consider whether they would wish for the three current Elected Directors, who have offered themselves for re-election, to be considered for re-election (being Andrew Light, Eamonn O'Rourke and Paul Trott).

I. This will allow the Board to consider the skill set necessary in any new appointees and advise Council accordingly.

	 2		
Signed		⁻ (Cha	ir)

Date.....10/01/2019.....